Caleb Ewan wins in Brussels

The Australian Caleb Ewan added the Brussels Cycling Classic 2019 to his name. After a tough race, because of the dreadful weather conditions, a select group sprinted for victory. Ewan just made it before the German Pascal Ackermann and the Belgian sprinter Jasper Philipsen.

During the teams presentation in the Cinquantenaire park, the sun was still there. A lot of top sprinters came to Brussels to try and win this race. Among them Pascal Ackermann, last year’s winner, pocket sprinter Caleb Ewan, man in shape Jasper Stuyven and fast men Alexander Kristoff and Jasper Philipsen.

The race was hard from the start and soon a leading group of about 7 riders was formed. In the meantime, the sun had disappeared and rain clouds filled the sky, which made it a tough race. Laurens Devreese and Anthony Turgis braved the rain and finally joined the leading group, which now consisted of 10 riders. 

In the peloton Deceuninck-Quick Step took the initiative and the leading group was caught at about 20 km from the finish. The efforts of Deceuninck-Quick Step were not rewarded in the end, their leader Alvaro Hodeg was knocked back in the last 10 km due to mechanical troubles.

In the last kilometres the peloton was split up and finally a select group sprinted for the victory. Belgian champion Tim Merlier saw his chances go up in smoke, when he pushed out of his pedals at the start of the sprint. It was Pascal Ackermann who started early. He seemed to stand his ground, but last year’s winner was overtaken in the last few meters by Caleb Ewan. Jasper Philipsen finished third.